Categorized | News, SGA

SGA holds final meeting of year

At the Student Government Association’s final meeting of the semester, which was held on April 20, members tabled a bill that would prohibit smoking on campus.

Sen. Ryan Hirth, author of the bill, said the ban would benefit the environment at the University as well as the health of students.

Angela Hahn, lecturer in the School of Allied Health and Life Sciences and co-chair of the Tobacco Task Force, said the bill has garnered positive reception with a petition of approximately 400 signatures.

Senators considered adjusting the bill by adding designated smoking areas. A motion was made to table the bill for Aug. 31, the first meeting of the fall semester.

The motion to table the bill passed on a vote of 19 to 4 with one abstention.

Also at the meeting, guest speaker Dwayne Manuel, president of the African American Student Association, said he encouraged students to say something if they noticed suspicious behavior in relation to the recent hate crime occurrences on campus.

On April 11 and April 16, two nooses were discovered on campus. On April 19, racial and homophobic slurs were found on a bulletin board in Argo Hall.

“This is something that we do not tolerate,” Manuel said. “We’re going to continue to work together with other organizations and send a positive message.”

In her administrative address, Tammy McGuckin, assistant vice president and dean of students, said these incidents are being investigated by the police.

McGuckin said the University is going to continue to stress the importance of diversity and inclusivity.

“The dialogue will continue over the summer,” McGuckin said.

The meeting also introduced newly elected members. Senate President Amy Bueno said she was looking forward to working with the new SGA members, congratulating them.

Bueno said it was important for members to maintain a professional appearance, and she provided senators with tips on how to be successful in SGA.

Elected to the position of SGA President is Cora Merritt with Keldrick Averhart as vice president. Bueno is senate president, and Celena Bedosky is treasurer.

College of Business senators are Matt Dannheisser, Ethan Harris, Patrick Stepina and Kendall Young.

College of Professional Studies senators are Tyler Cordell, Alex Crozier, Venise Evans and Sherell Wood.

College of Arts and Science senators are Alexandra Acosta, Steven Calleiro, Ryan Hirth, Zahre Jattan, Tylor Jones, Brian McConville, Denisha Merriweather, Benjamin Mitchell, Ryan Richulo, Tyler Rossiter , Christopher Thrasher and Tashiema Wilson.

Jon Short
Web Editor 

Related Posts:

  • No Related Posts

Leave a Reply

nine + 3 =